End of Insanity: Month 1 and Day 2 of Juice Cleanse

Today was my last day of month 1 of Insanity. I still can’t believe I got through the entire month without missing a work out. There were many nights after a full day of work where I was so sure I would give up and just skip a day. Some how or another, almost subconsciously, I would put on my workout clothes, lace up my sneakers, think to myself “I can’t believing I’m fucking doing this” and get on with my workout. I’m pretty scared for month 2 though. I’ve heard it’s a lot harder and I hope I can keep up. I’ve come this far and I definitely don’t want to quit now.

Today was also day 2 of my juice cleanse. This is my first time juicing. Originally, I wanted to do a 10 day cleanse, but after some more research and because I’m in the middle of Insanity, I’ve moved it down to a 6 day cleanse. That way I will have a full 4 days to slowly reintroduce myself back to solid foods before starting month 2 of Insanity. I plan on doing a full 10 day cleanse at the end of March (at which point I’ll be done with Insanity). I’m actually really liking the cleanse so far. I did have a slight headache during the afternoon yesterday, but apparently that’s fairly common. I haven’t had any serious detox symptoms that I’m aware of so far. I know this sort of thing varies from person to person, but my bowel movements haven’t been anything out of the ordinary. I think it may be in part due to the fact that my diet has been pretty healthy in general and mostly vegetarian, so juicing may not be a drastic change for my digestive system. When I weighed myself yesterday morning, I was up slightly at 161. This morning I was down to 159, most likely from losing water weight from juicing. I’ve heard that it is typical to lose a few pounds while juicing and then to gain some of that weight back once you’re back to solid foods. This is because you gain some water weight back and because there is now the weight of solid food in your digestive system. Whatever the case may be, I’m sure juicing won’t hurt my situation.

I’m getting pretty close to my half way point in my weight loss. I’ll probably post a few progress pictures when I get there but save some of the more revealing pictures for when I’ve lost a bit more.

I apologize for the lack of posts/lack of interesting posts. I just seem to be so short on time and so worn out at the end of the day that being able to post anything at all is a struggle. Only 2 and a half more weeks until I get a short break from working 7 day weeks. I’m hoping to invest in a new camera in the near future as well which may help make some of my posts a little more lively.

Mike and I went to a really nice vegan brunch place called Sun in Bloom this past Sunday before I had to go to work. It’s in Park Slope and was extremely delicious. I highly suggest checking it out if you’re in the area.

Have to start heading out to work, but I promise I will post some of our favorite juicing recipes here, hopefully later tonight! Have a good week everyone šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “End of Insanity: Month 1 and Day 2 of Juice Cleanse

  1. Hey good luck on your juice fast! I am currently on Day 29 of a juice fast, and it has definitely been an interesting experience.

    Are you planning on doing Insanity while on the cleanse? You may have to up your juice intake I’ve heard many people say they are a bit low energy/consuming too little calories to keep up with a high-intensity workout.

    Looking forward to following your progress.
    Happy juicing!

    • Thank you! Congrats on juicing for so long. I actually decided to only do a 3 day cleanse for now. My main reason for cutting it short was that I have a history of an eating disorder which included restricting/unhealthy fasting. Juice fasting was a little reminiscent of that in a way I was not expecting. I’m definitely glad I tried it and may try it again sometime in the future. But for now and for the path I’m going on, I believe it’s better for me to return to a healthy diet of mostly vegetarian foods rather than juicing. Thanks for the support and good luck on your juicing journey!

      • Definitely, I think that’s a really wise decision in that case. There is definitely a lot of restriction, and a feeling of control, that could be easy to fall into under the circumstances.

        A plant based diet is awesome, have you ever read “Eat to Live” by Dr. Fuhrman? Great read if you haven’t!

Leave a Reply

