Veganism/Vegetarianism

I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries and reading a lot of articles about food to try and get a better handle on what I’m putting into my body. It can be a very confusing process as almost everything that I see or read has something that completely contradicts it. An issue as simple as what kind of milk is healthier, skim or whole, gets my head spinning in a million different directions. The main points that I’ve truly begun to believe and understand are that raw foods are wonderful for you, and the closer to nature a food item is, the better it is for you.

I’ve been starting to think a lot about veganism/vegetarianism. If you asked me a year ago if I would ever consider being a vegetarian , I would have said:

And honestly today, I can’t say that I believe that I will fully commit to being a vegetarian or vegan, but I do see some very good points in their choice of diet. And the options that are available, especially in NYC, are immense. I guess that where I stand right now is at a point in which I would like to include more vegetables into my diet and consume less dairy and meat. In the past 2 years of my life I have been much more adventurous in trying new things and my palate has expanded greatly. I have so many more options in the world of vegetables that I was closed to before. Nutritionally, I don’t need to consume meat twice a day, or even daily for that matter. It’s just a habit I’ve gotten used to. I’m starting to feel the same way about dairy; cheese in particular. I absolutely LOVE cheese. Seriously, when I was 14 I owned a shirt that said, “CHEESE IS GOOD.” But I’m starting to realize that a lot of times I’ll find myself adding cheese to foods not because I need to, but because I’m used to doing it. The other night I was baking some eggplant and wanted to add sauce and cheese to it, but we were out of cheese. So I ate some pieces plain and some with just sauce and guess what, I didn’t die without the cheese! I wasn’t even really upset about it. I definitely want to start being more aware of what kinds of dairy and cheeses I’m adding to my meals and be conscious of if they are really necessary. And like I said before, I’m not claiming that I’m going to eliminate meat and dairy from my life completely, but there is a big portion that I feel I can cut out resulting in a healthier diet over all.

Last night, Mike and I grabbed a bite to eat at this place called Energy Kitchen. They have several locations in Manhattan. We ate at the one in Chelsea because it was on the way to his work party. I had one of their veggie burgers and it was really good! I did not feel in any way that I was missing out by choosing a veggie burger over a chicken burger or a turkey wrap. I was completely satisfied by my meal choice. It’s just simple decisions like that that I would like to make more often. Because most likely, in my regular diet, I am not lacking in meat or dairy, but fruits and veggies can always be improved upon. So why not opt for a tastey veggie burger instead. And why not start using soy milk (which I only first tried a few months ago and actually really enjoy, as well as almond milk) instead fretting over whether skim or whole is a better decision.

Leave a Reply

