Sometimes you don’t want to, but you do it anyway

Yesterday was the kind of day where on the subway ride back from work, I wanted to skip going to the gym and just head right home. But I didn’t. I went to the gym like I planned. Normally once I’m actually at the gym, everything is fine, but for some reason yesterday, once I was there, I still didn’t really want to be. I got through my biceps/chest workout and 3 minutes into cardio, I was really wanting to get off and leave. I felt that way almost the entire time. But I pushed through and did cardio for 30 minutes anyway. I’m really glad I did. It just proves to me that even though there may be part of me that is tired, lazy, and scared, the part of me that wants to be happy and healthy is much stronger.

Tonight I’m going to Mike’s work holiday party with him so we won’t be able to go to the gym. There will also be an open bar, so I have to make sure to eat a healthy dinner and keep drinks to a minimum. It’s definitely hard to be perfect this time of year. One of the things I try to tell myself in situations where there is temptation, especially around the holidays, is that it is okay to say no. The bowl of lasagna, the chocolate truffles, the alcoholic beverage that you really want, well guess what, just because it’s in front of your face doesn’t mean you have to have it. Because believe it or not, you will live another day to see such things again. Once you eliminate that feeling of missing out on something, it’s really not too hard to stay away from such things. I have the ability to say no to this piece of apple pie that is in front of me right now, but hey, if in the future one day I really want a piece I could always make one or purchase one. This is not my last chance to consume this item so I don’t NEED it. That’s just a way of thinking that helps me personally. If it’s something you really want, maybe just take a bite instead of a whole serving. You just have to be aware of how often you pick at things here and there because small bites in large amounts really do add up.

Speaking of not being perfect, Mike and I are celebrating Christmas early this Saturday before he leaves home for Georgia. We wanted to bake some cookies so I found this whole wheat oatmeal cookie at A Dash of Sass’s blog. The original recipe calls for chocolate chips and walnuts which I think I’m going to switch out for crasins and almonds. Yum.

Image

Leave a Reply

