Zucchini Chips with Hummus

Yesterday I found out that I got an internship at Warner Bros Records as a Video Marketing Intern that I interviewed for last week, so I’m very excited about that. I also closed the coffee shop in the lower east side for the first time and am doing it again tonight. Last night Mike and I did a little work out at the apartment instead of going to the gym because I was kind of drained. Tonight we’ll definitely be going to the gym, drained or not. I’m taking this week a little easy since I still have some congestion and it was suggested not to do anything super strenuous for at least 2 weeks after bronchitis. So this week will just kind of be getting back on board because I couldn’t do anything last week, and hopefully next week I am good as new and can go full force!

I just got Mike’s last Christmas present in the mail and it’s way smaller than I thought it was going to be, so I may have to return it and think of something else :/ Bummer. Other than that, things are going pretty well! I showed Mike some of that documentary I had mentioned a few days ago: Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. Here’s the cover with before and after pictures of the main guy in the film:

fatsicknearlydead

He started off at 309 lbs. The other guy in the movie started off at 420 lbs. Their journeys and results are truly motivational. If a man who could barely take a 10 minute walk is willing to do what ever it takes to get healthy, I sure as hell can do it! Mike agreed to do a juice fast with me sometime in the near future. I’m thinking maybe at the end of January and then again in March. I want to do them for 10 days.

I also wanted to share a delicious yummy snack we made the other day and something we’ll definitely do again.

Zucchini Chips with Hummus 

(Sorry forgot to take a picture! I’ll take one next time and post it here :p)

For the zucchini, all we did was cut them in very thin slices and put them on a baking sheet with a little olive oil and salt and pepper. They tasted great when they came out, but the weren’t really chip like, they were kind of mushy. We used forks to dip them into the hummus which we didn’t mind, but if you want your zucchini to be more like chips or fries so it this way:

Set your oven to 425.

Slice your zucchini into thin slices or strips, whichever you prefer.

Mix together some eggwhites with a little bit of skim milk.

Get some whole wheat panko crumbs and mix it with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a little bit of parmesan cheese if you like, and any other spices you might want.

Dip your zucchini in the eggwhites and then in the panko mix.

Place on a baking sheet and cook for about 25-30 minutes until they are golden.

For the Hummus:

About 3 minced garlic cloves

1/4 cup of greek yogurt

About 2 cups of cooked chickpeas or 1 19 ounce can of chickpeas, drained

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1 Tsp olive oil

1/4 Tsp Each of Salt and Paprika

1/8 Tsp of Pepper

1 Tbsp Chopped fresh Parsley

Throw everything in the blender or food processor and that’s it! If it’s too thick, add a little more greek yogurt or olive oil.

Hope everyone is doing well! Have a good day 🙂

tumblr_mecee6veJ71qew6ebo1_500

Leave a Reply

