Pesto Pizza

Mike and I made some pesto pizza two weekends ago that I didn’t get to post because of my bronchitis.

I loveeee making homemade pesto because it’s really easy and great on so many things. We used it as the pizza sauce but also had some left over which I used on sandwiches and with omelettes.

Pesto Pizza

SAMSUNG (Sorry, not the best picture haha, but I promise it’s good!)

For the Pesto:

2 cups of basil leaves

3 cloves of minced garlic

About 1/3 cup of pinenuts or walnuts (I tend to use walnuts because they are cheaper and taste just as good)

3/4- 1 cup of olive oil (I start off with 2/4 cups in the food processor and then add a 1/4 cup as needed. Depends on how thin you want the pesto to get)

Salt and pepper to taste

 

In the food processor I start off with 1 cup of basil, the walnuts, minced garlic and 2/4 cups of olive oil. Blend that together a little then add in the rest of the basil and another 1/4 cup of olive oil and see how the consistency is. If it’s still a little too chunky, I’ll all the final 1/4 cup of olive oil, making it 1 cup of olive oil total. Then add in the salt and pepper to taste, and you have your pesto!

 

For the pizza dough, we get whole wheat dough from Trader Joe’s. Heat the oven to 425. Toss your dough and get it into pizza shape. (I’m pretty bad at this but Mike used to work at a pizza shop so he handles it. I used to have to roll is out.) Add the pesto sauce first and then what ever toppings you’d like. We typically go with tomato slices. We’ve also done spinach and grilled chicken which is really great. Top off with some grated part skim mozzarella cheese (I’ve also done it with fresh mozzarella and that works out really well). Keep it in the oven for about 10-15 minutes (depending on how crispy you like your crust). And then remove and consume your yummy pesto pizza 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

