Coffee shop, eggplant pizza, and juice fast

Yesterday at the coffee shop the health inspector showed up. For those who may not know, health inspectors do not give you an exact time telling you when they are going to show up. The owners knew we were due and that they would be arriving soon, but exactly when, they did not know. We were informed via email last night that anyone who is working while a health inspection is taking place will be given a cash bonus if the store gets an A grade. Having a health inspector at the shop while you are working is kind of like having a cop driving behind you on the road. Even if you know you’re not doing anything wrong, you still feel a little paranoid and on edge and do your best not to do anything dumb while they are around. At the very same moment that the inspector came in we also had a HUGE rush out of no where (I think they might have been production people from a set that was shooting near by). Luckily, we got through it all and received an A! Just in time as a Christmas bonus! I also served Steve Buscemi his morning coffee for the first time (apparently he’s a regular at our shop). And supposedly Patrick Stewart was sitting in the corner of our shop while his friend ordered a coffee, or so I was told by one of the other customers after he left, but I didn’t see him.

When I got home from work, Mike had made us lunch. It was a great little recipe I found and sent to him for Eggplant Pizza. Quick, easy, and delicious! It’s pretty much slicing up some eggplant and using the eggplant in place of pizza dough for yummy little mini eggplant pizzas. I’m definitely going to be checking out Kath’s Blog for some more great recipes and ideas.

I started watching a documentary called Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead on Netflix yesterday and it’s pretty interesting. It starts off with an Australian man on a journey to become healthy starting off with a 60 day all juice fast as he travels around the United States. I’m thinking doing a 10 day juice fast might be something I’d like to look into.

Even though I haven’t been able to work out because of bronchitis, I’ve been doing really well with my diet, so I’m proud of that. And the coffee shop definitely keeps me moving for hours at a time. I’ve been sick and/or busy this week so I do have some recipes that I’ll post when I get around to it! Hope everyone has a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

