Rise and Shine!

This morning, Mike and I woke up at 5:30 in the morning to go to the gym. Never thought I’d get up at such an hour to go to the gym, but it was actually really good! We made sure to be in bed by 11 last night, so I’m sure that helped. I personally prefer to go to the gym in the morning and get it done right away, that way I’m not putting it off. It also makes me energized throughout the day and puts me in a better mood. After a good morning workout, I crave a healthy and fresh breakfast which makes me more likely to eat well throughout the entire day. Plus it’s much more empty in the morning, which I enjoy.

Last night, I made a nice and easy yummy dinner which also doubled as my lunch today (gotta love leftovers!)

Here’s a pretty crappy picture from my phone:

Whole wheat pasta with marinara sauce, grilled chicken, fresh mozzarella, and spinach sauteed in a little olive oil with garlic, and onions.

This recipe is as straight forward as it gets! First you cook your pasta and grill your chicken. For the spinach, put a thin layer of olive oil in a pan, let the oil heat up a bit and then add the chopped onions and garlic. As they start to brown, add in the spinach. Once that’s done, mix it all together and top off with some sliced up fresh mozz!

Mike picked up the fresh mozzarella on his way home from Murray’s Cheese at the Grand Central Market.

I’ve been trying to be very aware of the nutrition facts and ingredients in everything that I’m eating, which will be particularly important for when I challenge myself to eat clean for the entire month of February.

The marinara sauce I used was Victoria Marinara Sauce

The general rule of thumb is to make sure that the ingredients are things that you recognize and can easily pronounce and the fewer amount of ingredients, the better. About 5 ingredients or less seems to be what most people suggest.

The pasta that I used was Barilla Whole Wheat, which I now realize isn’t 100% whole wheat. I found this article on different types of pasta and I’m definitely going to look for some of the brands suggested that at 100% whole wheat. Here’s the link:   The whole truth: How healthy if your pasta?

I’m going to try and post meal recipes along with pictures as often as possible, hopefully daily!

In other news: I travelled to Harlem this evening to take my food handler’s license test. I passed! And it’s a good thing too, because I definitely would not want to go through that whole process again. Now I’m off to go watch some Star Wars with Mike and Marc. I’d say it’s been a pretty good day 🙂

Leave a Reply

