Sunday, Funday

Yesterday I went out on a quest to find a new part-time job. For the past few months, while I’ve been going to school in Manhattan, I’ve been staying at my boyfriend’s place in Brooklyn during the week and commuting back to NJ Sat-Monday. Needless to say, this has been a bit of a pain in the ass. So I’ve decided to find a part-time serving job in BK so I can save up and afford to rent my own place.

I printed out 15 resumes and my boyfriend and I rode our bikes to various restaurants close to his neighborhood. Hopefully I hear back from one of the places soon! I do have a part-time job related to my field of study (audio production/engineering) but it’s only 15 hours a week and doesn’t pay very much because it’s just one step up from when I started as an intern. I really have to do some soul searching and figure out what direction I want to take myself, career-wise and plan a path towards getting there.

But back to the bike riding! I absolutely love riding my bike, and honestly in Brooklyn, it’s such a great alternative to taking the subway. I was lucky enough to bring over not only my bike from NJ, but also my mom’s old bike for my boyfriend to use. One of my goals is to get good enough to participate in a bicycle marathon. It’s such a shame that it’s almost winter. But I’ll do as much biking as possible, as long as the weather permits it! The fact that I truly enjoy riding my bike goes to show that getting exercise in doesn’t have to be a chore. I admit to having days where I absolutely dread going to the gym (but once I’m done working out, I’m always so glad I forced myself to go!) I think everyone should experiment with as many different types of workouts/fitness/exercise as possible, because when you find something that you really love to do, you’re more likely to do it! I personally know that I really don’t like treadmills. I’ll use them if I have to, but I’d rather go for a run, or even more so prefer a bike ride or the elliptical. My boyfriend was into yoga for a while. I’ve only tried it once, but it doesn’t seem like my cup of tea. I’d like to try it again though. Who knows, maybe it will grow on me. I’d really like to try a kick boxing class. I feel like the energy behind that type of workout is something I’d be interested in. I also want to get a pair of rollerblades! Rollerblading was one of my favorite things to do as a kid and I miss it. Joining an adult sports team is also a great option and something I might like to look into. And once I’m in a place where I feel more comfortable with my body, I’d like to try and take a burlesque class. It’s something I’ve always found fascinating and think could be a lot of fun. You never know until you try!

I find it pretty interesting that almost all of the jobs I’ve held in my life at this point have been in food service. These include working at a bagel shop, a Pizzeria Uno’s, a bakery, and a cafe. Part of my reason for working in this area is because I’m a social person and enjoy interacting with other people. But I also think the fact that food has always been important to me in one way or another is another huge factor. However, all of these previous work places were surrounded by food that isn’t very healthy. This would sometimes make things more difficult by having temptation so near. I guess all that really matters now is that at this point, regardless of what type of restaurant I end up working in, I know I have the strength to make healthy choices.

Well I hope everyone has a lovely Sunday! Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

