This is the beginning

Well hello there!

Just thought I’d write up a short little opening post. At the current moment, I am in the process of finishing school as well as looking for a new part-time job and trying to figure out what exactly I want to do with myself, career-wise. But in just 3 short weeks and 3 days, I will have my initial weigh in and measurements taken for the health and fitness contest I am participating in. Once that happens, I will start writing posts regularly.

As my about me section states, I do have a history of disordered eating. However, I believe I can channel all of the energy it took out of me to obsess over negative/unhealthy eating and exercise patterns paired with a horrible self image, and transform that into positivity and a healthy lifestyle.  My plan is to start off with the Insanity program. In the current weeks leading up to that I’ll do my best to prepare my body with stretching, cardio, and light lifting. Only so that my body isn’t in complete shock once I start Insanity. Once I start though, I plan to kick it into full gear.

In preparation for my change in diet, I’ve been looking up a lot of information about clean eating and have been trying to compile as many good recipes as I can. Throughout the weeks I’ll assign myself different challenges, whether they be exercise, food, or personal life challenges.

As a kid, I was always physically active. I have two brothers and played a lot of sports and was competitive. Luckily for me, my brothers are both very involved in fitness. My older brother just became certified as a personal trainer. My younger brother is also very into fitness and was nice enough to burn me a copy of Insanity. I can’t wait to challenge myself and join the league of my fit family!

I think the most important change I’ve made in recent years and through recovery is my self image. Granted, I have days where I look at myself and see my imperfections and use negative words to describe myself. But overall, I’m in a much better place than I used to be. I really believe that exercise and eating right will make a huge difference in how I view myself. I just feel like a more energized and better version of myself when I’m taking care of my body. But the point I was trying to make about my self image is that I no longer have unrealistic expectations for myself. I’m 5’5″ with a large frame. I used to spend nights crying and killing myself over trying to be someone I could never be. I’ll never have a tall model’s figure. I’ll never be 5 feet tall and petite. But I don’t want to be anymore. I just want to be the best I can possibly be. And I believe I can do that.

If anyone has any good suggestions/tips for my upcoming challenges, they would be much appreciated! Any comments/questions are welcome as well.

2 thoughts on “This is the beginning

Leave a Reply

